Public Consultation Meeting for 45 Balliol St (with 57-93 Balliol St)

On Tuesday May 10, 2022, from 6:00 to 9:00 P.M., the City of Toronto will be holding a virtual meeting to discuss a Zoning By-law Amendment and Rental Housing Demolition Application for 45, 57-93 Balliol St. Toronto City Planning has submitted their Preliminary Report January 25, 2022, to Toronto and East York Community Council. Summary … Read more

Big changes coming to our neighbourhoods

City Planning to host a Public Meeting on April 13th to discuss proposed new zoning rules for Multiplex dwellings in our neighbourhoods. You may have heard that Toronto City Council is planning to increase housing options and density in all Toronto’s neighbourhoods (EHON). To do this, the City is planning to change existing neighbourhood policies … Read more

We are getting a new Community and Aquatic Centre

BlogTo has recently reported construction plans for the new Davisville Community and Aquatic Centre (CAC) will bring a new public recreation facility to the heart of midtown, just steps east of Davisville subway station. The roof design will be similar to the new Canoe Landing community centre in CityPlace. The Davisville CAC’s active roof will include a … Read more

The Regent Theatre at 551 Mount Pleasant Avenue is being restored.

Terra Bruce has sent a letter as follows: Letter to Residents: Based in St. John’s and Toronto, Terra Bruce Productions (TBP), an award-winning Canadian theatre company founded to create and stage original musical theatre productions, acquired the venue in January of this year. Terra Bruce can’t wait to open the theatre doors to welcome residents … Read more

Residents fight backyard homes plan

Neighbourhood groups object to Toronto’s one-size-fits-all approach to allowing green suites. The Toronto Star reports that an alliance of seven residents associations in Toronto is appealing a new bylaw that would allow backyard homes to be built on residential properties – move affordable housing advocates with delay the creation of needed housing. Christine Mercado, a … Read more

Ontario Government releases Housing Affordability Report with Mixed Reviews

The Ontario government recently released the Housing Affordability Task Force report that makes 55 recommendations aimed at reining in home prices by dramatically boosting the supply of housing. The report was released publicly on February 8, 2022, less than two months after Ford and Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Steve Clark appointed the task … Read more

EHON Update – FoNTRA expresses concerns to Planning & Housing Committee

FoNTRA recently wrote a letter to the Chair of the Planning & Housing Committee expressing concerns about the Expanding Housing Options in Neighbourhoods program. In the Letter, FoNTRA supports the Expanding Housing Options in Neighbourhoods (EHON) program in principle. However, neighbourhoods across the City have different characteristics that must be taken into consideration in expanding building … Read more

Regent Theatre has been sold to TerraBruce

The Regent movie theatre has been sold, but the people who bought it are planning on turning it into something totally new that will hopefully benefit the community. The Regent Theatre was originally built in 1927 and was once known as the Belsize, and has now been purchased by Terra Bruce Productions. Based in St. John’s … Read more

EHON Update … City Council expands permissions

On February 2, 2022 , Toronto City Council expanded permissions to build garden suites on residential properties. Through new policies and zoning requirements, garden suites will be permitted in most of the city’s residential zones. The garden suites project is one of many initiatives under Toronto’s Expanding Housing Options in Neighbourhoods (EHON) program, which is designed to facilitate … Read more